Tags

, , , , , ,

Creating this dragon has become quite a challenge in major planning of what to do first. How far do I put the scales before the arms are attached? Do I need to paint the breast plates first and how much? Anyway, I decided that most of the body painting could be done before I added the arms, but to be honest, the whole thing just felt so back-ass-wards! I have always completed the fabric mâché part of the project first and then painted the whole thing after. The reason his tail was painted later was just so I had something to hang on to.

img_2265_cc

I loved the green color, but it was so bright! I knew I was going to have to do a black wash over it and maybe some texture colors.

img_2266_cc

This is how his legs looked with a little more work.

img_2272_cc

Wasn’t sure I liked that camo-look, but it is what it is!

img_2242_ccI did some work on the head in the meantime adding some toilet paper clay for texture and the air-dry clay as the lines alongside his nose.

img_2243_cc

Now that I have done as much as I can with his head separate, it is time to attach it to the body.

img_2273_cc

I wanted to blend the head with the fabric mâché cloth I just applied, so I floated out the seams with Spackle and lightly sanded it. Now it will be ready as the scales are moved up the neck.

img_2277_cc

Before I added those scales, I wanted to add texture to his jaw and around his cheeks. This was done with the same toilet paper clay used on he other parts of the dragon.

img_2279_cc

Now that his head is on the body and the scales were placed high enough, it was time to add his arms. Of course, I had to make sure everything was painted anywhere near the arms to make the rest of the painting easier.

img_2282_cc

img_2283_cc

More scales were now overlapped and blended into the existing scales. I finished  the scaling up the rest of the neck all the way to his head.

img_2285_cc

img_2288_cc

More Spackle was brushed on and sanded to blend the head with the new scales.

img_2289_cc

Now that the body is nearly completed with scales and textures, It is time to work on some horns, wings, and I thought some nice small vertical scales down his back might look good.

Sooooooooooooo… next post: Horns, wings, and back scales!

